Hooked on getting hooked up!

If I’ve ever had a prediction on an addiction, it definitely wasn’t online dating, but as I get older, less wiser and more single with each passing day, it has become easier to take on a habit I am not proud of. The sad part is, while I have had very few memorable dates, I have enjoyed a lifetime of laughter that I never could have imagined. This comes in the way of viewing pictures, profiles, biographical sketches and nonsense in general. While no one wants to admit it, everyone loves a fantasy. This is evident through the representation of “certified singles” who are selling themselves to the masses. Where else in the world could you wear your mud mask and flannel pajamas and get to pick and choose your knight in shining armor at the click of a button? I find myself raising and lowering my standards all in a single night while trying to fit into someone’s idea of a perfect mate. While I sift through endless possibilities of a lifetime of love and happiness, I continuously ask myself how did I get to this place in life? Should this be a joyous occasion of the freedom of being single, or a last resort to give love a chance? I continue to watch the commercials of several sites night after night, and I am convinced that this process has to be working for someone, somewhere. I do wonder though, how many frogs have to be kissed, before you meet the handsome prince? While I still believe in the possibility of love, I wonder if I am making a good return on my investment. The time and energy I have spent in checking for messages morning, noon and night, and the repeated first-date jitters are starting to add up. If I have learned nothing else, I have learned that internet dating provides an excellent cover that can go on for a very long time, but who wants that? Sooner or later, you have to show your face, and if you’re not who you say you are, you might be in a world of trouble. While I have yet to find someone who can pull me off the site permanently, I am still willing to exchange war stories, because I am definitely hooked on the idea of getting hooked up.

Leave a Reply

