Being Broke Is Funky

Today is payday and I am broke. This isn’t the first time I have been broke, but I can’t remember ever being broke on payday and it sucks. At a time when I’m usually trying to figure out which bar I’m going to hit first after work, I’m trying to decide between peanut butter and crackers or crackers and peanut butter for lunch. This is sad because everyone in the office goes out for lunch on payday, sort of like a right of passage, and instead of trying to jump on the lunch caravan, I’m trying to look terribly busy at my cubicle hoping the lunch crowd will pass me by. Better still, I’d honestly like to be left alone the entire afternoon until I figure this thing out. I can understand being broke right before payday, and even shortly thereafter, but being broke on payday? You’ve got to be kidding me! In the midst of my cracker feast, I realize that the coins I have haphazardly thrown into my paperclip holder have piled into a nice little heap. I’m wondering if there’s enough to get at least one small brewsky at the 7-11 on my way home. Given my current financial status, this may not be the best thing to do, but on such short notice, I’m not going to fret over it, because being broke is just funky.

Leave a Reply

