Flirting with Danger

I’m not a Cougar. As a matter of fact, every time I am approached by a much younger man, I am impressed, flattered, taken aback, but not interested. I’ve even gone as far as mentioning that I have a 27-year old daughter who is also single, but then they are impressed, flattered, taken aback, but not interested. Most of the time it happens at a public place such as a mall, the park or a major event, so it’s easy to make my case and disappear through the crowd. More and more though, it is happening at work. This makes the issue more delicate because your paths cross often and after the initial conversation, there’s always the uncomfortable, unspoken transfer of “You know I want you..” and “You know I’m not interested!” Although nothing is ever said again, you try to find ways to make it more pleasant by smiling and moving on. This is fine until the smile is misinterpreted as flirting, and you work in a manufacturing plant. The day he tried to hit me with a forklift, all bets were off. My smile turned into a frown, and from that point on, I knew I was flirting with danger. I then became an old alley cat, hissing and clawing every time our eyes met, and he understood from then on, that I was definitely not a Cougar.

Leave a Reply

