Ninety to Nuttin!

I’ve never kept score on anything.  I didn’t play sports, and I’m just not the one to keep up with numbers unless it’s math or money.   There has to be though, some fundamental value of keeping score, because so many people do it.  There is the neighbor who can tell you how many visitors you have had for the week, the co-worker who can tell you how many times you have been to the bathroom, and my parents, who know which one’s turn it is to put gas in the car.  I used to think that these folks just didn’t have enough to do, but I have since learned through personal research that men are more prone to do it than women.  As a matter of fact, one man in particular used to ask me what the score was a least once a day.  At first, I was dumbfounded.  Knowing I wasn’t a sports person, I thought maybe I must have missed a big game.  When I realized that there was no way in hell that many games could be played in one week, I finally caught on, to the first part that is.  When I realized this was a hypothetical question, I would just throw out numbers.  What I didn’t realize, was that when I answered the question, it was no longer hypothetical, it was real.  As long as the score was not even, everything was okay.  I guess he just assumed that he was in the lead and all was right in his world.  Every time, I would give an even score, I would have to pay for it the rest of the day.  Everything we did became a challenge, and I mean e-v-e-r-y-t-h-I-n-g, and he always tried to one-up me.   I finally realized that I couldn’t win, or maybe even that I didn’t want to play this game anymore.  It was tiring, irritating and irrational, so I just stopped answering the question, and he literally lost interest in me.    If this man was really getting his rocks off by keeping score, I hope he can one day meet his match.  Until then, I will forever remember him at Ninety to Nuttin.

Leave a Reply

