Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough

CONFESSIONS OF A THRIFT STORE ADDICT

I have this thing for second-hand goods…
I know I should
be able to control this desire
but what started as a small flame
has turned into a 3-alarm fire.
Even when thrift shopping wasn’t so cool
I was the consummate fool
who knew how to work a rack
from the front to the back.
Scouring through bins and bins
with an erotic pleasure
I am determined to win
some untapped treasure.
Sweating profusely as I enter their doors
they attempt to amuse me with tactics galore.
Having “happy hour” and “2 for 1”
only makes the madness more challenging and fun.
First to arrive and last to leave
I’m there when prices drop, new materials received.
Unfathomable yes, yet I have no shame.
I’m a Preferred Shopper, greeted by name.

Leave a Reply

