Moved By Music….Royally

When I first heard the song “Royals” by Lorde, I was driving to work and I honestly think that my car started rocking to the beat.  It was so pure, so simple, and it had a vibe that could not be ignored.  Unfamiliar with the artist, title or the story behind it, I suffered through an entire 24-hour period just hoping to hear it  again, and just like clockwork, it happened  the very next day.  This time, I was able to absorb the words along with the beat, and it felt like my entire life had been pre-recorded and put on blast.    She starts out saying, “I’ve never seen diamonds in the flesh and I cut my teeth on wedding rings in the movies….” it goes on to explain the simple life of a person who dreams about the finer things in life, but recognizes and even appreciates her non-royal status.  This speaks volumes of the ability to recognize that we can be okay with who we are in spite of what we have.  As much as I would like to think that I have heard songs before that defined me, this is the closest I think it will ever get.   This song penetrates the foundation of humility  and is timeless.   If it doesn’t move you, you may be carrying a load of dead weight.

Leave a Reply

